They see me blog-rollin’

For the midterm, I used my blog Feel Happiness, a project that I have been wanting to work on for a long time. As an avid reader of personal development literature, I have noticed some problems with most of what I read out there, and I wanted to make improvements. For example, most personal development information is just fluff designed to make you feel better about yourself for a few minutes, but doesn’t give useful strategies and tactics for actually improving yourself in the long term. I decided I wanted to write about increasing happiness, but I wanted to make sure its scientifically backed and has exercises for how people can apply the information.

As far as the design of the blog goes, I didn’t have many thoughts regarding the aesthetics. The main thing that I wanted was a blue background for its relaxing effect, but I’ve noticed that makes it harder to see the links I put in, so I might change it around. Other than that, I wanted a cool nature type picture or trippy picture for my header. Regarding other aspects of the design, I haven’t put much thought into it. Ultimately I plan on making it much more aesthetically pleasing, but putting up some good content is a much higher priority. I will probably start improving the look sometime after Dance Marathon is over and I feel like I have more time.

My “creative process” probably applies more to generating content than the blog design, since content is a bigger strength of mine. I spent about a half hour brainstorming topics to ultimately write about, and I came up with around fifty that I have saved for future posts. Then I went online and started looking for scholarly articles on these and other topics, and found even more stuff to write about. Not a very interesting process, but that’s what I did!

Anyways, onto my reviews of my classmates blogs!

First up is the blog of the venerable Nate Weiss. This is probably my least favorite blog because somehow his media component was great despite not even including a single picture of me in it. What did I do to deserve this, Nate? But seriously, this blog is about one of my favorite topics, Dance Marathon, so how can it not be awesome? It was actually really interesting to read through the entries and find out more about the history of your involvement with DM. Lots of interesting stuff and loads of good pictures and media in general. You get an A-…it would have been an A+ if I played a more prominent role in the video montage.

Next up is Sarah Wexler’s blog Intern Guide. The first thing I noticed is of course the header. When I looked at this one the first time it was like BAM! Definitely a sweet pic. I like your post about food and event planning which had some really interesting information in it. And of course, the pictures of the food would have made me ravenous had I not just devoured three rolls of sushi. I also think the choice of topic is unique, which is a huge plus in my opinion.

Now I’m going to take a look at The Lazy College Girl Guide, a blog by Sara Pagliante. While I like the name of the blog, the topic is almost totally irrelevant to me. On the other hand, I did really find the whole blanket coat entry amusing. I don’t appreciate you trash talking snuggies. They are so comfortable (although now rivaled by the even more fashionable Forever Lazy, haha). Anyways, despite not being particularly interested in women’s fashion (the models themselves are usually more interesting to me), I think this blog is very well done and has lots of posts too.

Naturally I had to talk about Good Eats Diary, the blog of Daniel Jung. Why did I have to talk about it? Because the first post is about sushi, of course! Dan, I’m very happy that you’ve discovered sushi…I hopped on that bandwagon in November 2010 and never looked back. I’ll have to check out that Sushi Cruise place sometime. For your benefit, you might want to consider going to Sushi Palace in Edison, which has $20 all you can eat, and a place called U-Yees, which has the cheapest and best rolls all the time. Whenever I go there, I’ll get four special rolls for about $20, and then brace myself for the mouth-watering, belt buckle loosening euphoric experience.

Last but not least is Comfortable Calories, which is Melissa Repke’s blog. I’m a big nutrition nerd, so I love the choice of topic. In fact, I was strongly considering doing something similar. Doing a screencast on reading a nutrition label is an absolutely brilliant idea. Most people just don’t understand how to do that, but it is such a basic and necessary skill. While we probably don’t agree on what exactly makes a food “healthy” (I tend to side with the more paleo-diet crowd), I definitely appreciate how you said dieting and eating healthy shouldn’t be difficult or frustrating. It is generally a matter of making a few simple substitutions, as you said.

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “They see me blog-rollin’

  1. hahah, I like your title of your post!

    “they see me blog-rollin’……They hatin…. Patrolling they tryin to catch me postin’ something dirty?” LOL JK. — but, anyways, great review for your top 5 blogs. I will check those blogs out.

  2. Good review. I found it interesting what you focused on for your assessments, noticing that you liked having a lot of pictures available and that the content often influenced your choices. That’s probably a pretty accurate indicator of what draws people to like one blog over another.

  3. jesslentini

    I really liked the Lazy College Girls Guide to Fashion as well, probably for different reasons than you, but I agree with you in liking the amount of posts she had. I’m glad you discussed Comfortable Calories because I didn’t have a chance to see that blog, but it is definitely something that interests me as well and now I will have a chance to explore it.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

